Tagyerit logo showing Flo's guitar
TagYerit Store
Listening Room
Full Length Reviews
Front page - navigation center


Views and Reviews

If these short review excerpts leave you thirsty for more, then follow the link at the bottom to see the longer versions of these reviews.

Valley Advocate By James Heflin - Oct 29, 2014

pp> Amherst’s Rich and Flo Newman wear several hats, and every hat is unusual. In one, you’ll find a rabbit. Not only do the Newmans have a penchant for bunnies of the pet variety, big-eared rabbits are a motif in all their work, popping (hopping?) up in small details or in more overt ways, like Flo’s rabbit guitar.

With that guitar, she makes weird and wonderful music in collaboration with Rich under the moniker Tagyerit. The two don’t play gigs, but they’ve offered their unusual sounds on record for a good few years. The music is like pop with alien sensibilities, a fun listen that’s full of surprising fizz and tang. Flo’s often-ethereal vocals float along, buoyed by her off-kilter guitar playing and Rich’s propulsive bass lines. Chances are high that you won’t find anything quite like it.
(from a cover article about Rich & Flo's pumpkin carvings).

Valley Advocate By James Heflin - Nov 19, 2009

The Best Local Band You Can't Go See

There's a song on Tagyerit's latest album, Shimmer, that gets to the heart of many of Rich and Flo Newman's favorite things. It's called "Neat Junk," and it's a musical manifestation of, as they say, "the collecting mentality." The song is propelled by a skipping beat that is hard to avoid calling "peppy." Rich Newman's fat bass tones rumble beneath. Flo Newman's vocals lead the proceedings: "Here I'm piling my collection/ my neat junk—all my nifty stuff/… mermaid shaped swizzle sticks/ lagoon creature model kit/ dolls dressed like nuns and brides/ Jetson Viewmaster slides/ Crackerjacks—prize inside." It's hard to peg this music—it's got moments that invoke jam band languor, others that seem like art rock precision, and a strange, wonderful playfulness of a brand that is unique to Tagyerit.

GoGirls Music reviewed by Megan MeGehee (www.gogirlsmusic.com)

" ... tempts listeners with endless treats of original songwriting and precise execution. Songwriters Rich and Flo Newman successfully combine the upbeat with the mellow, employ imaginative leaps of interval and harmony that reflect their imagery-filled lyrics, and show provocative talent in painting nostalgic pictures through melody and lyric. The pair has the special ability to weave seemingly contrasting sections into seamless songs.

Flo Newman's vocal performance, showcasing her wide range and the occasional punk-ish quirk, infuses the album with immediacy. ... she maintains perfect control of the intricate harmonies and demands attention. ...

Sink into daydreams in harmony with the soothing sounds or remain alert to carefully discern the many levels of nuance in these songs; it is up to you. TagYerit will guide you from an ode to the musicians in everyone (Music Makers) through animal-filled images and environmental warnings to a deceptively demure piece regarding blushingly embarrassing anecdotes that are "all true." However you choose to approach this album, you will not be disappointed that you took the trip.

Hit Picks: "Tubeman" and "Milestones"

The Valley Advocate Written by Gary Carra and Sean Glennon - July 2000

The following is excerpted from the reader's poll issue.

Think of the Advocate Grand Band Slam as a kinder and gentler version of the assorted battles of the bands we all attended in high school
The Grand Band Slam isn't a battle; it's a celebration of the Valley's vibrant music scene. For the second year running, we asked Advocate readers to choose their favorite local musicians in a variety of categories -- and more than 5,000 ballots poured in.

Experimental/Progressive: TagYerit
Pinning down TagYerit's sound is as delicate a procedure as two porcupines humping.
Since we didn't have enough candidates for Sci-Fi or Disorienting Rock categories, Tagyerit found a home in our old catch-all: experimental.
And that's just fine with the band's bassist, Rich Newman. "Whoa! We love our fans," Newman said. "Apparently, they'll vote for us in any genre that will have us."
The first (CD), 1995's Heavy Construction, drew critical acclaim from Guitar Player Magazine. The second, Tubeman, is still in the early stages of promotion.
TagYerit relies heavily on the Internet and its 100-page Web site to spread its musical message. A lively mixture of songs, studio pics and assorted silliness, www.tagyerit.com boasts an average of 3,000 to 5,000 unique visitors per month.

Melyssa Harmon Get Fancy! "We hail TagYerit for their eye-opening "Outlaw Radio Guy", a song for those programmers claiming to be innovative but a playlist that tells a different story!"

Terry Allen hEARd - http://www.ozemail.com.au/~hmag

... It's great to see that the band are still hard at it ... their latest album Tubeman continues their tradition of cool, slightly quirky pop.
There are some great moments here, ... "Embarassed (All True)", which is probably my favourite track, sporting an excellent vocal performance as well as some very unusual pacing in the lead guitar.
Other highlights include "Dreading", the fabulous "One Crow Morning", opener "Music Makers", ... plus "Outlaw Radio Guy". Once again the band have compiled a great bunch of tunes & it's now up to those of you looking for interesting new releases to get yourselves into this one.

VR Radio 27 Nov 1999 http://www.vrradio.com

"TagYerit will enter our first playlist chart at #1, with the song Outlaw Radio Guy. ... the response for ORG was overwhelming!"

Geoff Wilbur's Renegade Newsletter
Reviewer Pam West.

"What would happen if you floated into the Bermuda Triangle on an inner tube? Flo and Rich Newman have done it again. Savvy and sleek, quirky and fun, dark and funky pop with phenomenal lyrics. Flo's percussive vocal style has the rich maturity of Joni Mitchell, the Egyptian flair of the B-52s, and the flexibility of Bjork. The awards for musical inventiveness go to "Wendy Bird", "Outlaw Radio Guy", and "SciFi with Space Leprechaun Alien Appearance." "

Eric O'Brien 181.4 DftN! Oct 99

Like that smile you get from the girl across the hall that you are too scared to talk to... "Tubeman" is the follow up to the highly acclaimed "Heavy Construction".

Flo, is back and almost above her game with the rabbit shaped guitar and a mastery of the English language that rivals Ben Stein. I would be a fool not to scream the triumphs of "Outlaw Radio Guy" and "Dreading". The amazing thing about Tagyerit is that conventionally speaking this is a band that does nothing right but for some reason it works on every level. The verbiage, the music, the mix is all controlled chaos. Sporadic at first but in the end it all comes together like an episode of Scooby Doo. Of all the bands I hear year in and year out this is one I have looked forward to and I must say it has been way too long.

The single "Music Maker" has been downloaded off their website over two thousand times and climbing, so look for someone with the vision and fortitude to get these guys back on the radio soon. When you get this disc check out "Wendy Bird", "Betya" and "One Crow Morning" this disc needs your undivided attention so give it to them...

181.4 Degrees from the Norm! .... http://www.181-4.com
©Copyright 1999 181.4 DftN!

Mark E. Waterbury Music Morsels Oct.99

Flo’s voice is reminiscent of Joni Mitchell and lends itself perfectly to the thoughtful lyrics. The snappy rhythms and driving folkish music are an excellent foil to the songs and put their own stamp on the tunes with brief but well contrived solo forays. Songwriter connoisseurs will enjoy this one.

MuzikMan September 28, 1999

You will be tickled to hear this CD full of pop musings and sensibilities from Tagyerit. Their appeal is no doubt universal. The group reaches out to every walk of life as it draws it's influences from a wide variety of resources and genres. Lead singer/guitar player Flo Newman adds color and humor with her quirky Joni Mitchell meets Alanis Morissette vocalizations. ... many different musical expressions ... come shining through. ... very notable. If you are in the mood for something different and original this is your fix. Tag yer it!

Barney Quick Indie-Music.com (http://Indie-Music.com/tagyerit2.htm) Sept.99

... after a few listenings, you find yourself needing an occasional fix. It's a big world full of all kinds of viewpoints, some confusing and disturbing. After you've been exposed to this unique little ensemble, it's comforting to know you can refresh yourself by looking at the world through Tagyerit-colored glasses.
Music this spare has to be consistently engaging to work, and the Newmans pull it off. There's nothing really all that exotic about the chord progressions themselves; it's just Flo's voicings and funny little licks that make the listener say, "How's that again?" She doesn't just throw them in haphazardly, either. They are key compositional elements and show up uniformly throughout the songs' structures.
It would be difficult for this reviewer to pick a favorite, but "Outlaw Radio Guy" is a strong contender. The bare-bones arrangement heard here is exactly as it should be ...
One of the most commendable things about Tagyerit's music is its instant recognizability. When you need that aforementioned fix of this stuff, you'll always know if you got the real deal. Their next outing is much anticipated.

Greger Ronnqvist The Prog-Reviews mailing list. Sept.2,1999
Rating: * * * *

TagYerit is once again back with another crazy weird release. I took TagYerit to my heart already with their first release "Heavy Construction" (1995), so it was with excitement I started listen to this new CD.
... It's like they're from another planet. ... a mix between B52s, David Byrne, King Crimson, Talking Heads and Frank Zappa, or between blues, country music, folk, funk, fusion, jazz, pop, psychedelic and progressive rock. ... excellent musicianship, many different time signatures, harmonies and loads of humor. One of the centerpieces are Flo's magnificent vocals that are very special, like a mix between Chrissie Hynde (The Pretenders), Joni Mitchell and Suzanne Vega. ... the guitar playing that is outstanding and in world-class.

The highlights are "Music Makers" "Tubeman", "Wendy Bird", "Outlaw Radio Guy", "SciFi with Space Leprechaun appearance" and the funny closing track "Embarrassed (All true)" that is about embarrassing episodes taken from real life.
This is one of the most exciting CD's I've heard this year and it's got a great production. Check this unique band out!

Donnie Moorhouse Union-News 8/19/99

TagYerit in the Internet vanguard
They weren't the first band to figure out the power of the Internet as a means for getting their music heard, but the Amherst-based TagYerit, back in 1996 had a vision that was way ahead of many bands.
In 1999, you'd be hard pressed to find a band without a web page. ... They still have some catching up to do, if they want to emulate TagYerit.
More than three years ago, the breakthrough "Heavy Construction" CD heralded the online debut of TagYerit. The band has just released its sophomore effort "Tubeman" and the single (Music Makers) has already earned them over 1,000 downloads since June. The TagYerit site is fascinating. ... which includes links to local musicians, artists and a journey through the Toilet Paper Museum (you have to see it to believe it). The Newmans have also developed Wabbit Wadio, 14 hours of streaming music that allows independent artists to show up on a playlist and get their music out to the world.
For those familiar with the engaging sounds of TagYerit, the band's "Tubeman" CD will not disappoint. On a sonic level, the music is alluring and Flo Newman's vocals are a treasure.
It is getting easier to find good music these days. Follow the lead of TagYerit and head to the .com section of the web.

Liner notes: Ed Vadas of Fabulous Heavyweights fame had a hand in the TagYerit project, producing the tracks. One of the more interesting segments on the site includes notes from the studio, recording actual conversations while the CD was being made. One exchange suggests a great marketing idea for Northampton would be a picture of Vadas' face on a bicycle seat.

earBuzz Review 8/13/99

Musically and artistically you don't get any better than Tagyerit. This is one of the finest CDs we've heard.
... what matters is that you can absolutely "ear-witness" the result of collaborators who eat, drink, and sleep music together.. but not just music, all that comes along with it - life, taste, synergy, all that soul mate stuff, right?
Tagyerit's music is very very original. .very. .but we have to compare to relate, so they're like you took King Crimson, They Might Be Giants, Chrissy Hynde of the Pretenders, and put them all in a room for 20 years. .. the final result could be, might be, Tagyerit.
Know what else is cool? That guitar - that guitar shaped like a rabbit is about as cool of a guitar that's ever been. Tagyerit moves musically within different time signatures and keys, effortlessly, with lush vocal harmonies and bare speaking vocal delivery, all within 20 seconds of the same song. The guitar work is mature and accomplished - and the rhythm section, made up of drummer, Fred Hazelton and bass, vocal, Rich Newman, is solid as a rock - a really dense rock. Flo Newman, whose rabbit-guitar is pictured, and angelically underworldy voice is sampled here, has a musical and vocal delivery that's syncopated, dynamic, and full of character.
Songs are full of humor, like "Embarrassed" - . ."date at the movies - there's quite a crowd, when bodily functions start functioning loud. . "; and "Tubeman" - about reports of person-filled inner-tubes floating in the ocean.
Topically, "Music Makers" could have been about earBuzz (but wasn't), with lyrics that hit close to independent artist's homes. ."a tiny fraction of music makers ever reach our ears. . . did you know - there's a giant network and it's kinda underground, from hand to hand, on homemade tapes they're passing it around." Exactly.

The Renegade Reviewer - Reviewer 13

Wow the vocals are incredible. The singer has a Joni Mitchell jazz fusion style that is very memorable. They have a very snycopated sensibility, carried by a kick ass low end. They have a layered almost synth-like sound. They successfully create a "soundscape" if you will. Their mood follows the vocal style and vice versa. You can tell this group has been gigging and writing together for a while. No wonder Guitar Player magazine likes them. I think that they are probably pretty popular on the college scene. I could listen to this style of music over and over and never get tired of it.

Duke Aaron V-Mag August 1999

"TagYerit, it took me a little while to get it, but I'm a little slower than most. There are 13 wonderful tracks on Tubeman .... The group is comprised of songwriters Richard and FloraLee Newman, and they are joined on the disc by the Fabulous Heavyweights Fred Hazelton on drums. ... I gotta admit these songs are a little fruity. If you take yourself real seriously and are into that jaded, urban sophisticate thang, then don't go get it. However, if you want a group of stylistically original songs, backed with excellent musicianship, interesting and fun themes, and a great voice - here it is.
TagYerit's sound is some mixture of bluesjazzrockfusionslightlybohemianhippything, and that is about the best I can come up with in way of description. I was at times reminded of the better Bongwater material sans the gross-out lyrics.
The production was lush and superb and local heavyweight Ed Vadas is responsible. He did a great job and this is one of the best produced recordings from the valley I have ever heard.
.... Yeah, they're self-admitted tree-huggers, but the album is still great and Flo plays a wicked cool rabbit-shaped guitar. Check them out ..."

Jimmy Riddle - come.to/robots

"Tubeman," the song, is about a ship's captain who joins a band of renegades floating in the sea on inner tubes after setting out to investigate them. ... Two from 13 which indicate that Tagyerit are not necessarily on the same frequency as the rest of us ... Flo Newman sings in a bewitching folk fashion (she's got a large range and she's gonnna use it) and the music takes in the stagger and jerk of a gentle Cardiacs or even the Soft Machine. Which leaves us the obvious comparison with the now-defunct Sidi Bou Said although without the propensity for slashing guitar abuse. In its place comes a love of crisp pop segments that burst out of, and are swallowed up by, the twitching folk rock, hints of country music and even psychedelia.

Marc Ferrara DJ at "Audio Xtreme" Jul 99

... I've got to say I'm very impressed. More importantly though our listeners have really responded well, very well. So far we've aired "Music Makers", "Outlaw Radio Guy", "Sci-Fi...", and the title track from the Tubeman CD. You guys definitely bring a unique style and I know that's why I personally, and I'm sure why the listeners really have enjoyed your music.

Gary Carra The Valley Advocate 7/1/99

DOWN THE TUBES: TagYerit is bakagain with the followup to 1995' critically acclaimed Heavy Construction. Dubbed Tubeman, the 13-song CD offering is awash in haunting harmonies, textures and syncopations right from the word go.

In fact, if you were to spin around twice, turn the lights off and play disc-openenr "Music Makers," the cosmic tempo would probably wreak havoc with your equilibrium to make you fall over by the second chorus.

"Outlaw Radio Guy" is quite possibly the best doo-wop blues song ever written, particularly considering that the band seems to have created the category with it.

Ben Ohmart www.atnzone.com 6/13/99

(Tubeman) This band is alive again, with over 50 more minutes committed to cd in straight-jacket style. It is refreshing to hear a new band going out of the house, down the street, out of the country - in short, FAR AWAY from your TYPical brain-dead love song. ...

The beautiful one here is 'Outlaw Radio Guy'. I can't explain. You have to listen to it. Flo Newman's unadorned vocals spring out from the backandforeground. I can't Stand it, it's so pretty.

... I find it refreshing to hear an album like this, because it reminds me that everything doesn't HAVE to be Journey in lyrical content. Music can go anywhere; and more importantly, it can TAKE you anywhere.
Get this cd and you'll see what I mean.

The following reviews were written in response to TagYerit's first CD "Heavy Construction."
Kevin Kreiner mp3critic.com (4/17/99)

There are musicians who find their muse only when they meet the right partner. Apart, Gilbert and Sullivan were just two guys nobody ever heard of. But together, they were, well, Gilbert and Sullivan. You may not have heard of the song writing, guitar and bass playing pair of Richard and FloraLee (Flo) Newman yet, but if this first record is any indication, you will be hearing from them in the future. Since you're going to hear it anyway you may as well turn it up.

"Heavy Construction," Tagyerit's first full length CD, is just plain fun. Think the B-52's meet They Might Be Giants and you've got some idea of the sound. Like the two Johns, the music manages to be witty and sharp without being overbearing, and Flo's vocals are fresh and clean.

... The overtones of surf guitar are apparent from the get-go (the first track gives it away in the lyrics as well, its called "Subway Surfing") while the softer ballads like "Amelia and All That Is" have more of a folksy feel. Quirk rock works just fine for me. How else would you explain and album with titles like "Hypnotease" (it really is just that) and "Pointless Psychic Revelation" with its simple strings and repeated vocal hooks? How else would you explain a guitarist who's got a guitar body shaped like a rabbit that she carved herself? How else would you explain a band who are also the curators of the Whole World Toilet Paper Museum and Society? These people aren't just quirky, they're fun, and so is this record.

... with thirteen tracks you'll be hard pressed to pick the best one. "Buried Treasure" shows off Flo's vocals .... Besides, its got a pirate motif and I can't remember the last time anyone did that since Wayne Kramer. "Pointless Psychic Revelation" has a terrific harmony, with Flo's reminisces over a repeated chant "garbage in, garbage out." The title track has a sweet little rock beat, while "Wound Up" is as quietly relentless as the title suggest. ... Tagyerit has an impressive musical range, while still keeping every tune catchy. Still, I've got to give the award for best hook to "Subway Surfing," a song about riding the subway without holding the handles. If you've never tried it, believe me, it's a lot tougher than it sounds.

Listening to this album, on the other hand, is a lot easier than it sounds. With a style as inviting as a cup of hot chocolate on a cold night, "Heavy Construction" is not only fun, it's good for you too. Try it out.

Paul Doyle - Vermont Review Oct. 20, 1998

Wow. This is some wild stuff. This music comes from just beyond Planet Claire. They call it "Quirk Rock." I can live with that. To get a further idea of their eclecticism, Rich Newman bribed wife Flo " to get more serious about recording their songs, by promising her a visit to the Haunted House at DisneyWorld." Musically, there is lots of neat stuff going on, usually from various guitars and the layered vocals of Flo. Wound Up (like a clock with my mainspring overwound) jams and feels just like it sounds. Pointless Psychic Revelation (garbage in, garbage out) shows how sophisticated they actually are despite the comedic element. This music is out there for those of you who are too.

Ben Ohmart - @NZONE 10/98 http:// www.atnzone.com

Heavy Construction

Want to know what Joni Mitchell would've sounded like had she started in the late 90s? ... plug this bright poppy seed cd in.

... bluesy rock with an odd philosophy that hovers between the personal and the view out the window at Anything. ... has a spiritual point to it, but I can't tell if it's like the point on a pen, or mightier than the sword. Oops! I've been reading their lyrics too closely! But I love stuff like 'thought i heard Tweet minor for half a sec / are the blueprints being drawn / those brilliant flying architects / just labor on and on', from 'Amelia, and All That Is'. ... a witness to regular creation, with the lazy bass of an island retreat. Refreshing.

But my two favorite songs are 'Adam and Eve', because I love hearing Flo Newman croon 'in this whole world 'round'. Just sounds good.

(and) 'Pointless Psychic Revelation', ... a wonderful vocal treat, in which 'garbage in garbage out' keeps spinning round and round, like early progressive rock. It's short, but to the pointless.

The title song, 'Heavy Construction' starts stomping like a blues crew that lost all their heartbreak.

... it's the vocal arrangements that set this group off from the many. ... This is as good as you can get and still be white. Glad they're getting airplay.

Greger Ronnqvist - August 1998 Reviewer for Sonitus, Tarkus (issue #. 7), Prog-Net, Prog-Reviews

TagYerit consists of songwriters Richard (bass, vocals, one $50 guitar note) and FloraLee Newman (guitars, vocals), plus drummer Patrick Lavery. They call it "Quirk rock" and that is a very good description of this 13-song, outstanding, interesting, skillful, passionate, unusual, funny, brilliant, unique, beautiful, odd, different, surprising, wonderful, incredible album.

I don't know TagYerit's influences, but I think I can hear traces of B52s, David Byrne, Devo, Lene Lovich, Talking Heads, and Frank Zappa. A mix between blues, folk, funk, jazz, pop, psychedelic, and rock with very good melodies.
Just listen to "Hypnotease" and you will hum it for days. A special mention to the guitar playing that is exceptional and would appeal to all guitarists who listen to this album.

Flo's voice is really beautiful, but it might take some time before you'll get used to it. This CD is fucking great, both musically and lyrically. From the first track, "Subway Surfing" to the last track "Picnic". The tracks are full of shifting rhythms.

The best tracks are "Subway Surfing", "Hypnotease", "Buried Treasure", "Adam and Eve", "Heavy Construction", "Wound Up", "Pionic", "Pointless Psychic Revelation", "Peddler", "The Boys", "Self Sabotage", "Amelia and All That Is", "Joy" and "Picnic". That's right, it's all the tracks, and I love them all. On top of it the production is great too. This is a really impressive album indeed.

I'll promise you that this album won't disappoint you. Check them out!

GoGirlsMusic.com Cool Band Spotlight April 1998
What a sound this band has! I absolutely LOVE "Subway Surfing" Their melodic rhythm is groovin' baby. ... they're sound is unique and you'll come back for more.
Dave Burruto V Mag Jan.1998
TagYerit is comprised of duo Richard and FloraLee Newman. Obviously this pair are either somewhat brain damaged or simply have too much time on their hands. ... "Heavy Construction" is a truly strange journey into the minds of some deviant personalities. The music is part Human League and part Devo, but funny and interesting all the way.
Right from the get-go on the first track, "Subway Surfin'", the offbeat and quirky lyrics fly: ... a strange description of an urban surfer doing his thing in the underground.
The music of TagYerit is nothing short of fascinating, and one can only guess as to the disposition of its creators.
Music Scene    May 16,1997 www.muscene.com
Remember the Tom Tom Club in the 80s? Fun band right? Full of quirky lyrics abounding with electricity both instrumentally & vocally. ... Now (TagYerit)'s blend of guitar styles and lyrics stand out as powerful sonic influences. ... a really good album musically and lyrically, but the multiple plays of certain songs from this album will  fry your brain. There is so much to think about. Just listening to the music is fun. Songs such as “Peddler” which discuses prejudice and “Self Sabotage” which tackles self esteem are rather weighty for a “quirky band.” These heavy hitters are somewhat tamed by album openers “Subway Surfing” and “Hypnotease.”
ROCKRGRL Nov/Dec 1996 Number 12
"TagYerit has a lot going for them. Their quirky, unusual tunes are a treat. ... a great sense of humor as well as the ability to put a song across. And how many guitarists do you know who spend two years carving their guitar into the shape of a rabbit?"
JIMMY'S RIDDLE Feb. 26.1997
" ... a band that wilfully subvert the pop-rock formula ... staying on the right side of it is a difficult task. It's to their credit that TagYerIt tread carefully and generally avoid the kind of over- self-indulgent wankery that blights a lot of what they call quirk "rock". Still, as with any band in this mould, not everything is for everyone -- see Camper Van Beethoven or Talking Heads -- but where the quirk works ... this disc is outstanding. If you're prepared to take a chance, you will not be disappointed."
Rabbett of Internet Radio Hawai`i "well, it's kinda odd...I go way back, and I reacted to it like I did with the first cupple stones albums...1st listen I hated it...2nd it kinda got to me...third I am liking it more... its definitely unique and the chicks sing in a most discordinant fashion....
IMPACT press Dec/Jan '96-97

"Rolling, jangly folksy rock ...should appeal to the hippy college element"
(editor's note; favorable responses have been more widespread than that. Just read on)

Petra Chandler Drown Web-A-Zine November 1996

... The band weave their collective talents around songs dealing with very real aspects of life. Flo and Rich find the perfect harmony between an overt cause and the highly personal that blend together so well on tracks such as Buried Treasure. The uniqueness of Tagyerit lies not only in the strength of the pure melodies, but also in the strong two-part vocal arrangements.
One of "Heavy Construction"'s coolest musical characteristic is its sense of dynamics. The silky smooth vocals add even more texture to the album. A patented mixture of ethereal, atmospheric songs is evident. At times it is trippy, but always compelling. ... anyone who digs the contemplative side of pop--and appreciates well-written songs--will want to check it out.

Richard Johnston Guitar Player Magazine October 1996

Songwriter FloraLee Newman ... weaves tipsy single note obligatos that match her wry, word drunk and often acerbic lyrics, The songs ...indulge in shifting rhythms and textures that reflect the kaleidoscopic vocal moods. No rhyme's too audacious, no revelation too embarassing, - this one's full of the pure joy of words and music. The raw studio sound and roughedged production only make it better.

Gary Lopez - Terra Music - Featured artist Sept.96
(You really have to see the killer rabbit they animated for our listing http://www.terramusic.com) "... the Rabbit shaped guitar on the back side of their CD is very killer! ... music and satire that is a bit like watching a Ren & Stimpy marathon. You want to stop but you can't make yourself shut it off!... reminds me of some of the earlier B52's. ..."
Reto Koradi Consumable online Sept 18, 1996

What's striking about "Heavy Construction" is the enthusiasm and pure joy of making music that can be felt while listening to the disc. It feels like being in Flo and Rich Newman's living room, and watching them having loads of fun playing their songs. ... plenty of hooks to stick in your head and get you humming along.

Scott Pazur IMRS Reviews: September 18, 1996

Imagine They Might Be Giants jamming with Grace Slick in the old acid laced days of San Francisco, or Suzanne Vega writing with David Byrne and Jerry Garcia. Tagyerit is Rich and Flo Newman, two guitarists from different backgrounds, who sometimes still sound as if going off in separate directions, plus drummer Patrick Lavery. There are some nice cuts here, such as "Buried Treasure"... a nice psychedelic and melodic rhythm, "Adam And Eve", a strange, acid reggae romp that could be Lene Lovich doing a guest appearance on Sesame Street, and some really nice bluesy guitar work on "The Boys".

Donnie MoorhouseSpringfield Union-News Sept. 2, 1996

...Reminiscent of the B52s ...TagYerit goes after the unusual and gets it. From the opening notes, it grabs the listener's attention and holds on to it. While the music never strays far from the pop-rock genre, it is indeed quirky enough to give it a refreshing original feel.

Carving Our Own Way - August 1996 Online 'zine.
...this CD is ******* great, and it is going into my collection.
Todd Craven "Open Up and Say..." Issue 3 July 6,1996 email 'zine: tcraven@comp.uark.edu
psychedelic, blues, folk and rock elements. ... a sparse, fun sound. I ... prefer the slower songs, "Buried Treasure" and "Amelia & All That Is." The latter is especially nice and has a very dreamy quality about it. "Heavy Construction" is very cool and catchy, and "Hypnotease" has a chorus that will stick in your head for days. ... unusual rock that's not too hard. Check out Tag Yerit.
Eric Hultgren 181.4 Degrees from the Norm! Issue 11, July 5th, 1996 (http://www.181-4.com/dftn)
With blues, jazz, funk, and good ol' rock n' roll influences, this threesome is bound to turn some heads. ... has an odd feel of being They Might Be Giants happy and at the same time Wild Colonials haunting. ... like you just got off a ride at Disneyland after eating an Arch Deluxe, ... But it is that odd queasy feeling that turned me on to them and kept me guessing at the same time.
... the music is even cooler in songs like "Buried Treasure," "Adam & Eve," or the most excellent acapella tune, "Pointless Psychic Revelation." The fly in the ointment here is ...when you find out how beautiful Flo's voice is, you want her to sing the entire time. ... an impressive release ...worthy of a few hundred spins
I warn you, though, it's like flying a bike: it takes some getting used to but once you figure it out you fall in love. Thanks E.T.
Terry Allen hEARd Magazine (http://www.ozemail.com.au/~hmag) June 30,1996

... a beautifully crafted album. ...a fascinating blend of light rock styles laced with incredibly tuneful melodies & vocals that can at times make your hair (stand) on end. ...The unbelievable accapella of "Pointless Psychic Revelation" just has to be heard to be believed & is a major highlight... excellent songs ... Heavy Construction is something you should make an effort to hear.

Chuck, A&R, Virgin Records May 28,1996

"...very interesting. It sounds like you guys are a goofy fun couple...shows skill and a lot of passion..".

Shane McLaughlin, Northeast Performer May 1996
...gorgeously odd atonal jams ... with a bluesy guitar that cranks through modal changes ... maybe a cross between Devo and some old 'Star Trek' episode with the omniscient disembodied head.... The songs are beautiful revelations about the absurdity of everything, including music.

'Subway Surfing' ... is the coolest 'T' song since the Kingston Trio lamented poor Charlie forty years ago. .... a modern day 'Adam and Eve' touching on the geekiness of love in the 90s ...'Heavy Construction' detailing a sexual fetish for earth moving equipment. 'Pointless Psychic Revelation' is an a cappella stream-of-consciousness deep enough to reveal nothing.

GaJoOb 'zInE / d i y report April 19, 1996
The album also succeeds in showcasing the talents of singer guitarist Flo Newman who plays a strangely carved rabbit guitar and whose style is often peculiar to match. Guitar lovers in the tradition of Les Paul should take note of this one. Ms. Newman's vocals shine here as well, complete with multi-part harmonies that skirt jazz and pop and folk and have a whole lot of fun besides. TagYerit is definitely unique and if you're looking for something different without sacrificing depth while throwing in plenty of surprises this is it. RATING: 9 out of 10.

Kathode Ray , April 1996

A two person band with a great album that started out of a bribe the bassist made to the guitarist to take her to the Disneyworld Haunted House if she got serious about recording.... The result is a fun group of songs that will have you tapping your foot and humming along. TagYerit... is something that you don't often see today...unique.

John Stifler, Daily Hampshire Gazette, 115 Conz St. Northampton, Ma. 01060 / March 21,1996

The new local band I'd like to send you out to see this weekend is TagYerit. But I can't. TagYerit exists only on CD. It's members are Rich and Flo Newman. He plays bass, she plays a customized guitar with a body in the shape of a rabbit. .... clever lyrics and bouncy melodies.

Karen Shoffner, The Optimist, 1 Brewster Court, Northampton, Ma.01060 / Feb 28,1996

TagYerit's 13-song CD "Heavy Construction" is bouncy, catchy, and, yes, as quirky from the opening track Subway Surfing to the last one Picnic. TagYerit produces danceable sounds, powered by Flo's rabbit-shaped guitar and Rich's pulsing bass.

Paul Lenhart - WMCR Marist College Radio, Poughkeepsie NY. Sept 23,96
" I'll be sure to give 'Subway Surfing' some good airtime...Thank you for putting a smile on our listeners faces."
DJ Ottic,Alphabeats Radioshow, syndicated from Germany, June 17,1996
Vicky the "Philly Kid", KBVR, DJ, Corvallis Or, June 13,1996
"something interesting is always going on...could listen to a song any number of times and always find something new and fresh in the guitar work...
the vocals - go places you didn't expect, but it works incredibly well....
It's so easy to get lost in the sound of the song that one almost overlooks the pointed lyrics."
Timm Foley, WRPS DJ, Rockland Ma, June 7,1996

"At first I was iffy on it, but after a couple of listens, I've really warmed up to your music. ... especially "Subway Surfing" and most of all "Pointless Psychic Revelation". That one is spectacular..."

Dainius Saltenis, Program Manager - Laisvoji Banga 105.1FM - Lithuania radio, March 29 ,1996

"We play this CD non-stop during our broadcasts. We think it is wonderful. It can't be another way"

Predrag Strazmester, Radio Danube, Novi Sad, Yugoslavia Feb. 20,1997
"Have received the parcel today, I lot of fun inside!!! Shall play TagYerit many times in my shows, that's for sure!"
Chris Verrijdt, Program Manager Rhodes Music Radio - March 14,1996

"The CD is really cool. It wasn't what I expected, but I'm really getting into it. I've given it to a couple of DJ's and they really dig it as well. It's going onto our bottom 40 or "Heatseekers" ... I'm pushing it lank (which means "quite a lot")"


"All the reviews are well deserved. I agree with all of them. Don't you remember, I said...Well Flo, you've achieved Art!". Chetz Keegan (musician) "... spooky mystery and webspun guitars, eerie vocals, great production ... very songy songs. Bloody hooray!" David Lenson (author)

"... so cool! I just got the tape 2 days ago and I've already listened to it 8 times! ." Chelsea from MA

Longer Versions of these Reviews

TagYerit - i.e. back

rich@ tagyerit.com